personal

Group therapy?

So recently my psychologist suggested group therapy to me. Maybe it would be good for me. Help me to see there are many people with their own problems. So here I am, considering group therapy (and with ‘considering’ I mostly mean Googling).

Isn’t group therapy the one where you sit in a circle with all these people and talk about your feelings? I suppose it is. But apparently (again, according to Google, the hero of our generation) it has a lot of other aspects too. Some places only offer this sort of group therapy, but other places throw some musical instruments in there or another creative outlet. Makes it sound a lot more attractive.

I’m not the sort of person to try one session everywhere to ‘see how I like it’. I am the kind of person to research everything extensively, decide on something and assume that will be the best choice. So that’s what I’m doing right now.

One of my biggest questions in finding a group is age. Does that matter? Do I need to be in a group with only my peers, or is a group with women who are my mother’s age, just as good. Maybe that’s even better. All these friendly ladies who have passed the judgemental young adult years and will only think of me as someone with my whole life ahead of me. Maybe a group of my peers is better. Some random people who aren’t kids any more, nor are they adults yet. I don’t know. Maybe it doesn’t even matter at all. Perhaps all I need is a group of people. No matter who they are and what their age is.

I’m very curious as to how this is going to turn out for me. Thanks for reading this slightly chaotic post stranger. I will keep you updated on the group therapy progress. And if you have any advice for me on this topic, do let me know.

 

Leave a Reply

