Films, music & books

Book Depository haul

I love books. I love the smell of new ones and the notes and traces left by people in second-hand ones. Therefore, when I got some birthday money last month, I decided to use most of it to buy some much wanted books. I bought them from my favourite English books webshop Book Depository. The first time I ordered there, I was a little hesitant since I didn’t know anything about the site, but so far all the books I’ve ordered there have reached me in good condition. They even include their own bookmarks. It does take about 2/3 weeks for the books to arrive to me (in the Netherlands), but they sometimes are a great deal cheaper than other shops.

photo_2017-01-04_21-10-22

As you can see I went a bit mad. The damage isn’t too bad though, this whole batch cost me about €75.

 

The first one I bought is Fantastic Beasts and where to find them: the original screenplay by J.K. Rowling. I read this one as soon as it came in the mail. The Harry Potter series is one of my greatest loves and I was very excited for another glimpse of that world. I had already seen the film and I loved it. The screenplay is exactly what it says it is: a screenplay. Nonetheless, I really liked it. If you’re a massive fan, you’ll definitely like it too.

The other one of the batch I already (almost) finished is Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. I’ve always loved the film adaptation and felt like it was high time for me to read the book. So far it hasn’t disappointed me, although how this is supposed to be a children’s book is beyond me.

 

Next are Emma, Northanger Abbey, Mansfield Park, Persuasion and Sense and Sensibility, all by Jane Austen. I adore stories like these and I’ve seen most Jane Austen inspired film adaptations. I have not however, read all her books (shame on me, I know). I got all of them from the same publisher, as you can see on the pictures, and they look terrific altogether.

 

Finding Audrey (Sophie Kinsella), A Monster Calls (Patrick Ness) and Frozen Charlotte (Alex Bell) are all books I saw in Zoella’s bookclub. Last time she brought out a bookclub, I got the whole package through an old colleague of my father, who lives in the UK. Since doing that a second time would be a little much, I picked the ones I liked the look of the most. Finding Audrey deals with anxiety: something I deal with myself and like to read about if written well. A Monster Calls is a book I’ve heard quite a lot about. The writing is supposed to be great, as is the story. I’m very excited to read this one. The third one, Frozen Charlotte, is a thriller I believe. I know it has something to do with creepy dolls and I hate creepy dolls so naturally I had to get this one (*sighs* why do I do this to myself)

 

Heartless (Marissa Meyer), The Sun is also a Star (Nicola Yoon) and The Girl on the Train (Paula Hawkins). Two young adult books and one psychological thriller. I bought Heartless after reading the description on Goodreads. I’m not sure why, but somehow that was enough to fascinate me. The Sun is also a Star is one I wanted to read because I’ve read the last book of the author Nicola Yoon too. She wrote Everything Everything, which I thought was absolutely brilliantly written. Not often was I so surprised by a storyline. I’m hoping this book continues to be surprising. The Girl on the Train is one I got because I really want to see the film adaptation, but I can’t get it over my heart to watch it without having read the book first. I’ve heard some lovely praises about it too, so I have high hopes.

 

Last but not least: two classics. Peter Pan (J.M. Barrie) and The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (C.S. Lewis). Peter Pan needs no explanation. I’ve always wanted to read the story but I never did. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe is another one that everyone knows about. I might have read something from this book in Dutch when I was really young, but I can’t remember it too well. Time to refresh my memory

 

So there you go. I don’t think I have ever bought this many books in one go. At least I have something to read for the next few weeks at least! This is also a very good excuse to rearrange my book shelves 🙂

 

What books did you last buy? Have you read all of these?

Leave a Reply

