Films, music & books

My fluctuating list of favourite books (top 5)

I love reading. Every time I get my hands on some extra money, I go to a book- or webshop to spend it on some books on my to-read list. Thus, the list of the books I love the most fluctuates a lot (and oncoming month it’ll probably change again since I have a lot of books coming my way *does a happy dance*). I thought I’d share with you a list of my current favourites.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s stone (illustrated edition) – J.K. ROWLING & JIM KAY

I don’t care how many people tell me I can’t pick the Harry Potter series as my favourite book(s). I only mention part 1 here because that would be my absolute favourite if I’d have to choose. The illustrated version by Jim Kay only makes it more magical. But all the other parts are up there too. Especially since all of them together make the story, really. I’m not even going to go into detail on what it’s about, because if you don’t know: WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN THE LAST TWO DECADES?

 

The Help – Kathryn Stockett

The help is a story about 22-year-old Skeeter, who lives in 1962 Mississippi. She aspires to be a writer in a world where everybody would just rather see her settle down with a fine husband. Skeeter isn’t particularly happy with the way the black maids are treated by her white friends. She decides to do something about it. Something that’s easier said than done.

I loved the writing of this book. It made me feel completely immersed in the story. The characters were well thought out and the story line and its plot continuously left me guessing. All in all, a wonderful addition to my collection.

 

Me before you – Jojo Moyes

Louisa Clark, an ordinary young woman, starts working for Will Traynor. They are complete opposites. His accident has made him wheelchair-bound, which stops him from doing the adventurous things he has always done. Louisa does everything in her power to make him see the wonders of life again.

Now, I actually read this book before I knew there was a film coming out. My mind was a blank slate. First time round I read this as an audio book which was about 15 hours long. Not a second of it was boring. Whenever I cannot fully predict everything that is going to happen in a book, it gets an extra star. This one got about one hundred stars for that. I won’t tell you what part of the story that refers to though, you better read it yourself!

 

1984 – George Orwell

This book creates a non existing world in 1984 of a so-called “negative utopia”. If you haven’t read it, you will most likely know of it. It is a very interesting and sometimes horrifying read. I’d like to think that people would stand up for their freedom, if it was ever taken. I’d like to think I’d stand up for mine. For that reason, this book gave me the creeps. It is scary to see someone you could meet in your everyday life, change so very much because of the system. It is written in a way that you can follow his thinking processes. While he doesn’t much change in manner and appearance, you can see the change in thinking. This is completely terrifying to me and I never forgot reading this.

Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen

In this historic romance, young Elizabeth Bennet strives for love, independence and honesty in the vapid high society of 19th century England.

Yes, I did first read this because I fell in love with the film. I normally prefer reading the book before I see the film. However, in cases such as this, it only enriches my reading experience. For a book that has been written so long ago, it is surprisingly easy to read. If you’re into this genre of films and books, you’ll most definitely like this. If you’re on the other hand more like some of my friends, and despise everything that is categorised as ‘historic romance’, this might not be your cup of tea

 

Did you read all of these books? What is your current top 5?

Leave a Reply

